A Timeline of My Experience with MDMA

by amanda

Image

 

Molly is a trip…but it isn’t all fun and games. For those of you like myself who have panic disorder or GAD, proceed with caution. 

I’m not a fan of any drug that makes me hallucinate, but I decided to pop some molly for two days of Ultra Music Festival 2013. Here’s a recount of my experience for one of the days. 

Day 1: 

  • 11-11:30 a.m: I got on the metro to get to downtown Miami. Near the end of the ride my friend said “ok, let’s do it.” I put the rancid tasting chemicals in my mouth and chewed. 
  • 11:30- noon: In line waiting to get in to Ultra, wondering why I feel so normal. 
  • 12:00-1:00 p.m: “Are you rolling yet?” “I…I don’t think so…” 
  • 1:00-2:00 p.m: A DJ I like comes on and the light show is awesome. When I start dancing euphoria hits me like a ton of bricks. I can’t feel my feet but I know I’m dancing. 
  • 2:00-3:00: Walking through crowds and trying to figure out what to do next—panic sets in. 
  • 3:00-6:00: At the main stage. “I’m okay…I’m okay..” 
  • 6:00-8:00: Sun starts to go down but colors get brighter. The lights are more visible and I feel like I’m in heaven. 
  • 8:00-8:15: A round of hugs with my friends and exchanges of I love you’s” 
  • 8:15-8:30: A round of hugs with all the people around me and exchanges of “I love you’s” 
  • 8:30-8:50: Dancing. Alternating between not feeling my arms and not feeling my legs.
  • 8:30-8:31: “When was the last time I told my friends I loved them?” “….oh”
  • 8:31-8:32: “When was the last time I told the people around me I love them?” “…oh” 
  • 8:32-9:00: I started sharing my immense glowstick collection and made many friends along the way. It’s amazing how much happiness a glowstick can bring someone who is under the influence. 
  • 9:00-9:15: I give a girl a glowstick and she gives me a beaded bracelet. We hug and say we’ll remember each other and will keep each other’s gifts forever. 
  • 9:15-10:00: I leave the crowd and start throwing up rainbows. 
  • 10:00-10:20: I find a portapotty and go in. I then leave because it feels like a space ship that is taking off. 
  • 10:20-11:00: I feel better…but the show is starting to end. I look around and many of the people in the crowd are crying. I start crying a little as well. 
  • 11:00-12am: More crowds and the metro. Maximum anxiety levels. 
  • 12:00- 1:00 am: I’m home…throwing up some more, still hearing EDM and seeing crowds. 

The next day I did it all over again minus the vomiting. 

I never had an appreciation for EDM and I really only went to Ultra to tag along with my friends. 

After my drugged up stupor I now understand and like EDM. 

It was a crazy, scary, yet totally worth it experience. 

